Cape Ann Arts & Fashion

Reposted from StyleFlattery @ Northshore Mall

This week I had the absolute pleasure of getting a personal, guided tour of Cape Ann: specifically the different arts and fashion districts in downtown Gloucester and Rocky Neck. Jacqueline Ganim-DeFalco, owner of Cape Ann Designs: Seaglass Jewelry & Accessories, invited me to visit her arts paradise and was kind enough to show me around.

We started the tour by filling up at the delicious Seaport Grille at the Cruiseport. A gorgeous day to eat outside, we dined alfresco, and Jacqueline (Jackie) filled me in on the upcoming “Celebrate Wearable Arts” benefit on Sunday, September 29, 2013. This event will feature wearable art and fashion from local artists, and will include a fashion show, shopping experience and a chance to chat with the artists over “high-tea.”

After lunch, we went over to the Cape Ann Museum where I had an introduction to the Folly Cove Designers exhibit. The Folly Cove Designers were a group of 45 designer-craftsmen who worked together between 1938 and 1969 producing carefully wrought designs cut into linoleum blocks and printed (primarily) on fabric. The Folly Cove Designers was composed almost entirely of women, most being residents of Cape Ann and a majority having no artistic training prior to becoming involved in the group. The intricate patterns these women developed are incredible. The details were inspired by every-day-life and tell some hysterical stories from gossiping to losing weight!

Folly cove 510

We then took a walk over to Pop Gallery where I had my first experience with IRO Design. Bold patterns and colorful images are the hallmark of their products. While I did not get to meet designer and owner, Peggy Russell, I got to experience her eclectic taste and eye-for-design first hand.

I also got to meet two wonderful artists and designers: Beth Williams of Beth Williams Contemporary Handmade Glass Beads and Jewelry, and Sigrid Olsen of Sigrid Olsen Art. Both of these women are inspirational, and make spectacular one-of-a-kind works of art. Beth was kind enough to show me some of her incredible glass jewelry, and we just happened to stumble upon Sigrid as she was creating some of her ceramics (a master at work!)

Beth Williams 510

{Necklace: Beth Williams}

Sigrid Olsen ceramics 510

{Ceramics: Sigrid Olsen Art}

And, since this is a fashion blog afterall, I won’t hesitate to tell you that I wore the perfect outfit for touring the magnificent artsy shore-line. An easy-to-wear, non-fussy look was what I was going for. All of these items can be found at Northshore Mall, of course!

navy top 510

yellow pants 510

navy and white stripe wedges 510

gold necklace macys 510

{Blouse: New York & Company | Pants ~ similar: New York & Company | Shoes: DSW | Necklace: Macy’s}

Thank you to my wonderful guide, Jackie Ganim-DeFalco, and to all of the people I met on my journey through a wonderful arts district in Massachusetts. I highly recommend making it a part of your fall plans by partaking in the Cape Ann Open Studio Tour, October 12-14, 2013 or attending the Celebrate Wearable Arts” benefit on Sunday, September 29, 2013.

Yours in style & flattery,
Tara

Leave a comment