Simplifying Father’s Day

My Dad is one of my favorite people in the world. He is smart, funny, kind and has a the biggest heart. I’ve learned so much from him over the years, one of them being that he is THE most difficult person to shop for! Sorry, Dad, but you know it’s true! This year, I’m not going to try to “decode” my father’s brain to choose the right gift. Instead, I’m going to hone in on his likes and really give him something he will use and appreciate.

So, what does my dad love to do?

My Dad loves to golf. Each weekend (and probablly weekday, but don’t tell my step-mother) my father can be found with some type of golf club in his hand. He is a good golfer, and loves a well-made, bright colored and comfortable golf shirt. This one from Macy’s would be perfect:

Puma Golf Shirt 510

My Dad loves to work in the yard. When my father isn’t out on the golf course, he is mowing, painting, planting or watering something outside. While I’m sure he does not care what he is wearing while he is working outdoors, I know he likes to keep his head covered up. What better gift than a new Boston Bruins hat from Lids (they just made it to the Stanley Cup Finals if you didn’t know)! Go Bruins!

Bruins Hat 510

My Dad loves to entertain. After a long day on the links, or mulch-shoveling, my father really enjoys having people over, a glass of wine and grilling. He always looks great and likes to keep it casual while he and my step mother are entertaining guests in their home. Enter these “boat shoes” from Brooks Brothers. These washed-leather boat shoes are the perfect blend of “dressed” and “comfortable.” I know he would enjoy telling jokes, flipping burgers and a great glass of vino while wearing these shoes!

Brooks Brother's Shoes 510

I know these gifts seem simple, right? That’s what I love about them – I’ve discovered that it’s best to play to a person’s interests when I’m looking for a special gift rather than guessing and hoping they will like something. I would urge you to do the same this Father’s Day!

I’m so grateful to have such a wonderful Dad, and I want to make sure he knows how special he is to me. Thanks for all that you do, Dad! I hope you have a great Father’s Day and do something you truly love…you are the best!

Dad, Tara and Joyce 510

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!

Yours in style & flattery,

Tara

Link to original post: Northshore Mall Style Setter

Leave a Reply

