Spring fashion thoughts on a snowy day

Hi Everyone,

January weather has finally arrived in Boston! This gloomy, snowy day is enough to drive me crazy – or at least drive me to Pinterest to scour for spring trends and dreams of warmer weather. As far as spring 2013 colors go, I think we can all agree that YELLOW and EMERALD are in. Nothing makes me happier than bright colors, but I have to be honest, I’ve never been a huge fan of either yellow or emerald on me, but I love them on other people! If you are in my boat, and want to wear these spring trends, but don’t have the skin-tone to bombard your wardrobe with these hue-filled items, here are some tips for adding them into your spring lineup:

Mix yellow or emerald with other neutrals like, black, white or tan

Photo courtesy of: wetseal.com

Photo courtesy of: wetseal.com

Photo courtesy of: amberandhilary.com

Photo courtesy of: amberandhilary.com

Photo courtesy of: stampsrd.polyvore.com

Photo courtesy of: stampsrd.polyvore.com

Accessorize with yellow or emerald:

Photo courtesy of: thebluedoorboutique.com

Photo courtesy of: thebluedoorboutique.com

Photo courtesty of: peoplestylewatch.com

Photo courtesty of: peoplestylewatch.com

Photo courtesy of: polishedandpink.blogspot.com

Photo courtesy of: polishedandpink.blogspot.com

Photo courtesy of: polyvore.com

Photo courtesy of: polyvore.com

Beauty pops of emerald and yellow:

Photo courtesy of: letthemhavepolish.com

Photo courtesy of: letthemhavepolish.com

Photo courtesy of: hailhues.tumblr.com

Photo courtesy of: hailhues.tumblr.com

Photo courtesy of: brightontheday.com

Photo courtesy of: brightontheday.com

As you can see, there are many ways to bring the bright colors of Spring 2013 into your every-day-style without having to a) buy an entire new wardrobe or b) wear an outfit in a color you are not fond of just because it is “in.” For now, stay dry, stay warm, and stay fashionable.

I will leave you with a quote from Audrey Hepburn that makes me smile:

I believe in manicures
I believe in overdressing
I believe in primping
at leisure and
wearing lipstick.

Don’t forget to flatter yourself today!

Xoxo,
Tara

Leave a Reply

