Ruching and peplums – say what?

Hello my loves,

The high-holiday of fashion is upon us! New Year’s Eve has always been a dress-to-the-nines kind of night for me. I thought this would be the perfect time to share my love for ruching and peplums as we all shop for that perfect, figure-flattering dress to ring in 2013!

First, what in the world is ruching? Ruching a sewing technique in which fabric is gathered to form ruffles.

Ruching is universally flattering. Truly, this “gathering” of fabric to one side on a dress or blouse modifies the look of your body. The “trouble spot” on my body has always been my tummy. When I wear anything with ruching, my least-favorite-area is disguised by fantastic pleats, making me feel much more confident! I spend a lot of my time at Bella Sera Bridal and Lorraine Roy at Bella Sera Bridal dressing bridesmaids and mothers. The one element I always recommend is ruching because this trend looks lovely on just about everyone.

Another trend that is becoming more mainstream is the use of peplums. A peplum is a short flared, gathered or pleated piece of fabric attached at the waist of a women’s jacket, dress or blouse.

Image source: blog.shopstyle.com

Image source: blog.shopstyle.com

When peplums came back onto the market this year, I have to admit, I was unsure of them. Since seeing more and more designers add peplums to their collections, I have tried on and purchased a dress with a peplum, and I love it! Like ruching, the piece of fabric attached at the waist of the jacket, dress or blouse hides the very area in which I am most self-conscious about! What a miracle! I have to share this super cute find from T.J.Maxx. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I discovered this black One Clothing dress yesterday for $19.99 – yes, people that is correct – $19.99.

Dress from: TJ Maxx - One Clothing - $19.99

Dress from: TJ Maxx – One Clothing – $19.99

There is a good chance I have at least 20 little-black-dresses in my closet at one time, but I don’t have any with a peplum AND an illusion neckline. How could I pass this up?

So, think “ruching or peplum” when you are out shopping to flatter your beautiful body this weekend! Have a happy and safe New Year!

Xoxo,
Tara

2 thoughts on “Ruching and peplums – say what?

Leave a Reply

